lizzyoungbookseller

Promoting passion in book collecting

Cooking, baking, and shaking my way through political protests

Once again I find myself returning to the kitchen in search of comfort and solace during these unsettled times of political upheaval.

On election day this year I found my voice by baking an Election Day Cake, once a tried and true tradition of the American homemaker. Now, as the inauguration is upon us, I find myself drawn back to the kitchen, searching through old cookbooks, for recipes and wisdom from days past.

I woke with a start this morning, realizing that I needed to find a way to make my voice heard during the next four years.

The thought was obvious. I surround myself all day with rare cookbooks, food trade catalogs, menus, and various pieces of ephemera all related to food in one way or another. I felt a need to feed my spirit with some kind of purposeful action and the idea just appeared – get back to your blog: write, cook, and use all you have in front of you to contribute to the voices that need to be acknowledged during this uncertain time in our country’s political history.

So, today, to comfort my soul, I will bake some bread.

For the recipe I am not reaching back to centuries past but to one of my favorite bread books: Bread Alone, by Daniel Leader & Judith Blahnik. What could be better than a hearty Wheat Walnut Loaf!

Bread Alone is and has always been committed to simple life and living grounded in nature, community, and simple and honest breads and foods. True to form, Bread Alone’s first oven was built by Dan and friends in the community. Our first loaves were sold out the side door of the bakery, or out the trunk of the family station wagon.

http://www.breadalone.com/home

I’m heading to a rally tonight with – WE STAND UNITED – 6PM, Outside Trump International Hotel & Tower, 1 Central Park West, NYC

http://www.nbcnewyork.com/news/local/Trump-Inauguration-Protest-Mayor-De-Blasio-Al-Sharpton-Mark-Ruffalo-Michale-Moore-Rosie-Perez-Greenpeace-MoveOn-410734835.html

Got to get the bread in the oven…and so we begin.

About lizzyoung bookseller

Owner/operator lizzyoungbookseller, www.lizzyoungbookseller.com

2 comments on “Cooking, baking, and shaking my way through political protests

  1. lizzyoung bookseller
    January 19, 2017

    Thanks Jean, it will be a welcome distraction. I will let you know if we plan to make it to the Boston Area.

  2. Jean B.
    January 19, 2017

    More blog posts from you will be a most-welcome distraction from current events! Many of us will need positive things to think about. (Hmmmm. Maybe I will finally start a blog myself. We shall see.)

    BTW, I am missing your presence at Boston-area venues.

What do YOU think?

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2017 by in Food and Literature.

Navigation

